NC Marriage License Requirements
Applications are accepted at Register of Deeds offices M-F, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. Times may vary by
Both Bride and Groom must be present when applying.
$50.00 cashpayment due at time of application.
No physical required.
Immediately upon issuance, the license is valid for 60 days.
Regardless of where your wedding is actually held in the state, you may use a license issued at any NC
Register of Deeds office, but the license must be returned to the issuing office for filing.
Divorced applicants must provide the date of their divorce and some counties will request an original or
certified copy of the Divorce Decree. However, not all counties are uniform in their requirements. It is recommended that you call the office at
which you intend to apply to learn of their specific requirements before you go.
Like wise, should either the bride or groom not be American citizens, it is best to call the office at
which you intend to apply for your license to learn what paperwork will be required of you.
Both Bride and Groom must present identification.
21 years of age or older may use;
current Driver's License
current State ID Card
current Military ID
20 years of age or younger must have a certified copy of their Birth Certificate.
Both Bride and Groom must provide their Social Security numbers with verification through their
Social Security Cards or W-2 Forms.
You must show proof of age in North Carolina. This can be accomplished by providing your driver's license, Military
or State ID, passport or certified birth certificate.
You will also need to show proof of your Social Security number. This can be by a W-2 form, payroll stub, or any
official document with your Social Security number on it.
You do not have to be a resident of North Carolina.
If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse's death must be supplied. If the divorce was within 60
days, a signed copy of the divorce decree will need to be shown.
Covenant Marriage Option: No.
North Carolina does not have a waiting period.
$50 - cash only. This can change, so make sure to check with the County Clerk's office.
North Carolina does not require you to have any blood tests or physical
No. However, only one of you can apply for the marriage license if a sworn and notarized affidavit from your absent
partner is presented.
Yes. However, if you two have a closer relationship than being first cousins, you may not marry in North
Common Law Marriages:
Same Sex Marriages:
Anyone under 20 years of age will need to show a
certified copy of their birth certificate. If you are between 16 and 17 years old, you will have to show parental consent. Those who are
14 to 15 years old, you can't get a marriage license without a court order. Anyone under 14 years of age cannot get
Any ordained or licensed clergymen, and
Two witnesses are required.
License is valid for sixty (60)
Copy of Certificate of Marriage:
NC Vital Records
P.O. Box 29537
Raleigh, NC 27626-0537
Phone: (919) 733-3526